Global learning of six departments and 15 faculties that spreads to the world. International exchange and career support are substantial.
The predecessor of Meiji Gakuin University, Hepburn School was founded in 1863. Meiji Gakuin University is established in 1949 after merged with the Tokyo Union Theological Seminary, the Tokyo United Japanese-English Union School and other schools in 1886 and assumed the name "Meiji Gakuin". There are six departments such as Faculty of Law, Faculty of Economics and liberal arts. We attach a great deal of importance to an international education.
It is divided into two campuses; "Shirokane campus" and "Yokohama campus" and is regarded as the oldest in Japan as a Christian school. In Shirokane campus, you can see three historic buildings, including a chapel which is a symbol of Shirokane campus. The missionary building "Inbrie Hall" is designated as an important cultural property of the country.


Faculty of International Studies

Department of Global and Transcultural Studies

Learn globally about various fields such as overseas culture, politics, economy etc. Develop cultural communication skills and problem solving skills.
You will develop multi-cultural communication skills with our English based-curriculum. Furthermore, by taking classes in a range of academic disciplines alongside students with a variety of international experiences, you will gain a proper understanding of modern global issues, and a practical ability to actively respond to the many challenges that face us. (Studying economics or politics in English)

Campus address

Shirokane Campus
1-2-37 Shirokanedai Minato-ku Tokyo, 108-8636

1518 Kamikurata-cho Totsuka-ku Yokohama-shi Kanagawa, 244-8539